What We Give and Get

“Faith is a grace that comes to get, and not to give; or if it gave anything, it is the ills of the soul, but nothing of good does it pretend to give.  The sinner, in believing, upon the matter, says, ‘Lord, I give Thee my folly, and take Thee for my only wisdom; I give Thee my guilt, that Thou may be Lord of my righteousness; I give Thee my defilements, and take Thee for sanctification; I give Thee my chains and fetters, that I may be indebted to Thee for redemption and liberty; I give Thee my poverty, and take Thee for my only riches; I give Thee my wicked, wandering, hard, and deceitful heart, that Thou Mayest give me the new heart and new spirit promised in Thy covenant.”

– Ebenezer Erskine

Published in: on March 14, 2008 at 12:45 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tbftgoggi.wordpress.com/2008/03/14/what-we-give-and-get/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

